Assessment in Yr 7 & 8

How are we assessing and reporting upon your child?

Following Government guidance we have developed the previous system based upon the old National Curriculum levels with a ‘skills based’  model which is specifically designed to develop and assess the skills required for the new GCSEs which started with English Language, English Literature and Maths in 2015 and will be fully in place in all subjects by 2017.

Each subject area has an assessment matrix that shows how learners’ make progress through several steps (10 steps in total, from below step 1 to step 9).  Each ‘step’ is divided into three ‘sub-steps’ e.g. 2-, 2 and 2+. Staff have used these steps to plan for learning so that these skills are taught and assessed in order that we can report progress to parents and carers.

Here is an extract from the Maths Ladder of attainment which demonstrates the increasing difficulty of skills and makes it clear how learners make progress over time:

What Information will we be providing?

Every term your child will receive a tracking report

This report shows the progress your child is making on their ‘flight path’ towards their targets which have been set for the end of year 9 and ultimately towards their indicated GCSE grade.

These targets and indications have been set by the school based upon their previous performance by looking at what progress is made nationally by students of their ability in an ‘outstanding’ school. 

As part of the report our systems calculate whether your child is making the progress that would be expected to allow them to achieve their targets and colours the grades accordingly

The indicated GCSE grade is an early indication of what GCSE grade we would typically expect your child to achieve. These grades are on the new 1-9 scale which is being introduced for teaching from 2015. Although there is no direct comparison the table over shows how the grades are comparable to the old style A


What do the grades mean?

Target Minimum Grade

What is it?  

This is the minimum grade it would be realistic to expect your child to achieve – about 6 out of 7 students with your child’s ability will achieve at least this grade. 

What is it based upon?

It is based upon how well students have performed in the past and their ability in the subject.

We use students’ performance at Key Stage 2 (so called FFT estimates) as a starting point. 

Selston High School sets individual student targets in all subjects that would exceed Government expectations for progress. 

What targets are set? 

Each student has a target for each course that they study. When students enter the school, targets are initially set for the end of Year 9. As they progress through the school new targets are created for each examination course they study.

When are they set? 

They are set when students enter Yr7 or start their examination courses and are reviewed regularly.


Aspirational Target Grade

This is a higher grade that it is still realistic for your child to achieve. Around 2 out of 7 students of your child’s ability will achieve this grade. If your child is making above expected progress your child’s aspirational grade will be raised and you will be notified.


Capability or Progress

This is whether students are currently making the progress that would be expected of them.  Our system looks at the progress the student has made over the last two tracking sweeps and evaluates whether if progress continues at this rate the student will reach their minimum target.

Blue – making more progress than would be expected. Is already on course to achieve their minimum target grade and is now working towards achieving their aspirational target grade.

Green – making at least the progress that would be expected. Is on course to achieve their minimum target grade.

Amber – making slightly less progress than would be expected. May just fail to achieve their minimum target grade.

Red – making much less progress than would be expected. Will fail to achieve their minimum target, probably by more than one grade.


Attitude to Learning

This is a measure of how well students make the most of the learning opportunities that are available.

Blue – Excellent attitude and can always be relied upon to make the extra effort needed to produce work of the highest standard.

Green – Good attitude and can always be expected to make the necessary effort.  

Amber - Usually makes acceptable effort, but occasionally fails to do so.

Red - Poor attitude.  Failed to make the required effort on many occasions.